Back Home

Rach & I at Grand Canyon

That picture is not actually me “at home” … it is me (and Rachel) on my way home, at the Grand Canyon.  I’m starting to notice my father’s smile emerging in more and more of my pictures; it’s really more of a bearing of teeth than it is a smile, but for some reason I’m a little bit proud of it!

To bring another potentially confusing piece of information into clarity, I did not get home on June 25, 2008 … I returned to Atlanta on June 11, 2008, left on June 12 for a friend’s wedding in North Carolina (congrats to Torrie & Dan Souther!!!) and returned to GA on Sunday the 15th only to turn right back around (after a short nap) and head to Rutledge, GA for Peachtree Presbyterian’s high school summer camp.  So, while I have technically been home since June 11, I’ve really only been back in Atlanta for real since Friday, June 20.

Five days have gone by … I don’t really have a home.  I’m currently sleeping in an empty house in Sandy Springs … either on the floor, or, more recently, on an air mattress.   It’s nice because it’s free.  Other than that, there’s not much to be thankful for.  It is not incredibly close to work, and while it would be a nice house if there were any furniture in it, there is none.  I suppose I should be thankful for shelter at all.  Sometime in the next month I will have to find a house to rent … preferably a little bit closer to Buckhead or Midtown.

I started office work on Monday, June 23 … my mom’s birthday.  It’s now Wednesday and I don’t feel like I’ve had a free moment between 9 am and 10 pm yet.  And that seems like it should totally bum me out, but for some reason I’m exhilarated by it.  I’ve found myself praying for the college ministry that I am here to start while driving through campus at GA Tech, sitting at coffee houses until 11:00 at night (currently) working on my talk for Sunday, vision for the fall, etc.  These are things that I didn’t do in California.  I don’t know why … I just didn’t.  I love those students and I am so way beyond excited to see where that ministry goes next year … but my sense of belonging and rightness just didn’t ever show up in California.

I feel as if I should feel badly about that, but at the same time, it could be indicative that I was in a waiting period and have now made it back to the place that I’m supposed to be in.  I guess only time will tell.

Until then, I’ll just keep on truckin’ spending time in prayer and in relationships and try to keep my Hope in God’s ability and willingness instead of my own ability.  I would really appreciate any prayer that could be spoken on behalf of PPC College Ministry over the next 6 months … for direction and clarity of vision, but also for success in ministering well to students from PPC and at GA Tech.

Thanks everyone!

~ by Will Norman on June 25, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
